A True Hero – Chris Kyle

This is a post from my blog section “Profiles of True Heroes – Military and Law Enforcement”.  I love to go cycling.  As I started getting serious about it, I decided to name my routes after people – and who better to dedicate my routes to than the heroes in military and law enforcement?  

After completing a route, I would select a hero I had heard about and then write about them.  There are three types of people in this post: some gave their service for America and served in the armed forces.  Some have paid the ultimate sacrifice for our freedom.  And some protected the local community and died in the line of duty.  

After their story, I included information about the route I dedicated to these heroes.  I hope you can learn more about them and gain an understanding of what they have done for us.

US Navy Chief Petty Officer Chris Scott Kyle, Iraq War (4 deployments) – US Navy SEALS, SEAL Team 3, sniper element, Charlie platoon

Brought up in the plains of West Texas as a rancher, cowboy and bull-rider, Kyle enlisted in the US Navy in 1999, eventually went to BUD/S (Basic Underwater Demolition SEAL school) and became a US Navy SEAL.  His brother enlisted in the US Marines about the same time.  During his four deployments to Iraq, Kyle became the most successful sniper in US military history with 255 claimed kills and 160 confirmed kills.  He saved the lives of countless soldiers, Marines and Iraqi civilians.

Upon his discharge from the Navy in 2009, Kyle moved to Midlothian, Texas with his wife, Taya, and their two children.  There, he founded his company, Craft International, a tactical training company for the US military and Law Enforcement communities.  In 2012, Kyle’s autobiography, “American Sniper”, was released and in 2013, he released his second book, “American Guns”.

On Saturday, February 2, 2013, Kyle and a companion Chad Littlefield (also a former SEAL)

chris-kyle-and-eddie-ray-routh-340x300
Kyle and Littlefield

were shot and killed at a shooting range in Erath County, Texas by 25-year-old Marine veteran Eddie Ray Routh.  Allegedly Kyle and Littlefield had taken Routh to the gun range in order to help him with his PTSD.  This was later under heavy scrutiny because Routh had never experienced combat but was instead put in charge of overseeing insurgent detainees on a Marine base during his deployment to Iraq.  It was thought that he had sympathized with these prisoners, converted to Islam and was sent to assassinate Kyle.  This is all speculation of course.

On February 11, 2013, a memorial service was held for Kyle at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas.  Kyle was buried the next day in the Texas State Cemetery in Austin after a funeral procession from Midlothian to Austin that stretched for over 200 miles. Hundreds of local and out of state residents lined Interstate 35 to view the procession and pay their final respects to Kyle.

chris-kyle-portrait“People tell me I saved hundreds and hundreds of people. But I have to tell you: it’s not the people you saved that you remember. It’s the ones you couldn’t save. Those are the ones you talk about. Those are the faces and situations that stay with you forever.”

Route

Distance: 22.65 miles

Duration: 2 hours, 22 minutes, 2 seconds

Average Pace: 9.6 mph

Date: 03/19/2014

This route completed my conquest of the Centennial trail that follows C-470 and part of E-470!  It took 3 different routes but I have officially biked all of the Centennial trail! Although this was one of my shorter routes, it was TOUGH!  Lots of uphill but I definitely worked off that spaghetti I had last night!  My fastest speed was 33 mph and I burned 1238 calories! Yeah baby!

I am also honored to dedicate this route to a man I’ve held in the highest esteem.  Chris Kyle gave so much of himself for America and it was a privilege to do this for him.  Hooyah Chris!

route

Leave a Reply

