A True Hero – Anthony Davis

This is a post from my blog section “Profiles of True Heroes – Military and Law Enforcement”.  I love to go cycling.  As I started getting serious about it, I decided to name my routes after people – and who better to dedicate my routes to than the heroes in military and law enforcement?  

After completing a route, I would select a hero I had heard about and then write about them.  There are three types of people in this post: some gave their service for America and served in the armed forces.  Some have paid the ultimate sacrifice for our freedom.  And some protected the local community and died in the line of duty.  

After their story, I included information about the route I dedicated to these heroes.  I hope you can learn more about them and gain an understanding of what they have done for us.

US Army Staff Sgt. Anthony D. Davis, Global War on Terrorism – Team leader Company C, 1st Battalion, 75th Ranger Regiment

cycsj5zvaaax23aDavis was born on February 20, 1979 in Mainz, Germany.  After graduating from Seabreeze High School in his hometown of Daytona Beach, FL, Davis enlisted in the Army in October 2000.  He completed infantry training and the Basic Airborne Course at Fort Benning, GA.  Upon graduation, he was assigned to the Ranger Indoctrination Program, graduating in June 2001.  He was then assigned to his Company in July 2001.  There, he served as a fire team leader and a team leader.

During his 7th deployment to Iraq (having completed 3 to Afghanistan), Davis was killed during a direct fire engagement by a heavily armed enemy combatant in northern Iraq.  The enemy combatant was subsequently killed when he engaged the assault force.

Davis’ awards and decorations include the Bronze Star, Meritorious Service Medal, Purple Heart, Joint Commendation Service Medal, Army Commendation Medal, two Army Achievement Medals, two Army Good Conduct Medals, National Defense Service Medal, Afghanistan Campaign Medal, Iraq Campaign Medal, Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, NCO Professional Development Ribbon, Army Service Ribbon, Combat Infantryman Badge, Expert Infantryman Badge, Parachutist Badge and the Ranger Tab.

Davis is survived by his mother Ellen Davis, of Fayetteville, NC and his stepfather, Nelson Buckwald of Daytona Beach, his sister, Staff Sgt. Nakischa Davis of Fayetteville, NC, and his niece, Ariana, also of Fayetteville.

His Savannah Memorial was held on March 19, 2009.  He will never be forgotten!

ranger-family-at-davis-memorial

Route

Distance: 28.24 miles

Duration: 2 hours, 42 minutes, 55 seconds

Average Pace: 10.4 mph

Date: 04/07/2014

This was the first time I’ve been out on the Clear Creek trail.  The morning was pretty cold, so I got out there in the afternoon.  It was a good route going eastbound but a totally different story on the way back to Golden.  My rear tire deflated and I had to pump it up 3 times!  I’ll have to go have it looked at.  When I was about 4 miles from my car, my body almost gave out for some reason (maybe because I haven’t ridden for 2 weeks!).  I actually had to get off and walk my bike up several hills!  Legs like spaghetti but the shower felt SOOOOOO good!  Thank you for your service Sgt. Davis – Rangers Lead the Way!

untitled

References

http://1stbn75thrgrregtmemorial.org/RangerMemorialMemoryDavis.htm

 

Leave a Reply

